Google Meet automatically switches the layout in a video call to display the most active content and participants.
Change your layout
You can change the number of participants you see on your screen. The number of tiles may change depending on the size of your browser window.
On a computer, join a video meeting.
At the bottom, click More Change layout . Choose an option:Auto: The view that Meet chooses for you. By default, you’ll see 9 tiles on your screen.Tiled: The view that can show up to 49 people at the same time. By default, you’ll see 16 tiles on your screen.At the bottom, move the slider to the number of tiles you want to see on your screen. The number of tiles you choose becomes the default for future meetings until you change it.Spotlight: The active speaker or shared screen fills the entire window.Sidebar: The main image is the active speaker or shared screen. You’ll see thumbnails of additional participants on the side.
Your new layout preference is automatically saved.
View yourself in a video meeting
You can choose whether or not you would like to see yourself appear alongside other participants in a meeting. You will not see yourself among participants if you select the Spotlight layout or have pinned another participant.
Turn on self view in a video call:
Important: Your self view is off by default and your preferences are saved for later calls.
On the top right corner of your screen, hover over your self preview click Show in a tile .
On the People panel, click Show in a tile .
Turn off self view in a video call:
On the top right corner of your screen, hover over your self preview click Remove tile .
On the People panel, click Remove tile .
Hover over your tile in the video grid click Remove tile .
Tip: When your self view is turned off, you can still see yourself in a small preview in the top right corner of the screen.
Important: You can view yourself in a meeting even if someone else presents.